CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

View previous topic View next topic Go down

CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

Post by CebuBasilio on November 13th 2008, 10:44 pm

Description as given by MangaFox:
Miyanaga Saki is a high school freshman who doesn’t like mahjong. Ever since she was a child, she would lose her New Year’s gift money during her family mahjong game. If she won, her parents would be upset, and if she lost, well, she lost.

As a result, she’s learned to play in such a way that her score always remains plus/minus zero: not good enough to win, but not bad enough to lose. When we meet her, she’s being dragged to her school’s mahjong club by an old friend. How will a girl who hates mahjong, yet has become adept at the game as a result of her upbringing, survive in this environment?

Manga: Saki

Well in my opinion it's rather unique. I'm sure mahjong players could relate very well with Mahjong's long list of rules and whatnot, but I'm sure non-mahjong players can understand the flow of the manga. Hopefully, it wouldn't be like most sports/games manga, where it's just Mahjong, Mahjong and more Mahjong, which sadly is what I see in the chapters right now. However the art is good and the girls in the manga are quite cute. There's also an echii factor on this one with the short uniform skirts and the lingerie the girls are wearing on title pages.

All I can say is try it since it's still starting.

_________________
The grass is always GREENER on the other side, but my mind is GREENER than that grass
avatar
CebuBasilio
The Green Admin
The Green Admin

Number of posts : 194
Location : Mabolo, Cebu City, Philippines, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Registration date : 2008-11-06

http://nipponbasilio.multiply.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

Post by lou212 on November 13th 2008, 10:47 pm

I don't know mahjong but I'll put it in my "future reads" list...

btw, isn't this in the wrong section?
avatar
lou212
Debugger
Debugger

Number of posts : 125
Location : nasipit, talamban (nag-board)
Registration date : 2008-11-13

Back to top Go down

Re: CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

Post by CebuBasilio on November 13th 2008, 11:02 pm

Well there is no Manga section in the Forum, so this is practically the best place to place it here.

I'll ask the admins to change this to Anime and Manga maybe...

_________________
The grass is always GREENER on the other side, but my mind is GREENER than that grass
avatar
CebuBasilio
The Green Admin
The Green Admin

Number of posts : 194
Location : Mabolo, Cebu City, Philippines, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Registration date : 2008-11-06

http://nipponbasilio.multiply.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

Post by Strwberry on November 14th 2008, 6:17 pm

CebuBasilio wrote:
I'll ask the admins to change this to Anime and Manga maybe...
dba admin man sad ka? ehehe

_________________
~Full Circle; the advent and the completion of the cycle~

DON'T CLICK THE LINK!!!
avatar
Strwberry
Moderator
Moderator

Number of posts : 363
Location : amidst the valence of my vision
Registration date : 2008-11-12

http://strwberry.deviantart.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

Post by CebuBasilio on November 14th 2008, 8:40 pm

Strwberry wrote:
CebuBasilio wrote:
I'll ask the admins to change this to Anime and Manga maybe...
dba admin man sad ka? ehehe

I wasn't admin yet when I posted that...

_________________
The grass is always GREENER on the other side, but my mind is GREENER than that grass
avatar
CebuBasilio
The Green Admin
The Green Admin

Number of posts : 194
Location : Mabolo, Cebu City, Philippines, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
Registration date : 2008-11-06

http://nipponbasilio.multiply.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

Post by kudayami on November 17th 2008, 7:37 pm

So Saki, more or less, is about mahjong?

Interesting, I wonder how the author delivers the mahjong rules to readers, especially for those with no background.

Gonna check this out soon. After logging out with Flyff!! ^_^
avatar
kudayami
System Analyst
System Analyst

Number of posts : 403
Location : The richful land of Saint Morning from Roika
Registration date : 2008-11-12

Back to top Go down

Re: CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

Post by mario_dfm on December 7th 2008, 8:23 pm

omg Dar i thought you find it lame...>.<

anyways...iv'e seen some of the manga and the characters are really well drawn...^_^
avatar
mario_dfm
The Diplomat
The Diplomat

Number of posts : 78
Location : Talamban, Cebu City
Registration date : 2008-11-12

http://profiles.friendster.com/5722153

Back to top Go down

Re: CebuBasilio's Manga Review: Saki

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum